Tuesday, July 17, 2018  
Account Login  

  need help?  
Search By Keyword
Breaking News Alerts
Email Alerts
Email Address
Text Alerts
Mobile Number
 )  - 
Mobile Provider
standard messaging rates apply
Early voting in process


Have you voted yet?

Advance in person voting continues Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m., through Friday, July 20

Advance in person early voting is now underway and as of 11 a.m. on Wednesday, July 11, 202 ballots had been cast in Seminole County. According to Election Superintendent Michael Jon Rogerson, in addition to the 202 in person ballots cast, 37 absentee ballots had been requested and mailed out. 

Local voters are reminded that if they voted in the Democratic or Republican primary on May 22, they must also vote in that same party’s primary runoff. If a voter did not cast a vote in the primary or cast a non partisan ballot then he or she can vote in either runoff. Less than 32 percent of the regular registered voters in Seminole County voted in the May 22 primary; however, stakes remain high particularly in the non partisan race for Superior Court Judge of the Pataula Judicial Circuit between Henry Balkcom and Chip Stewart and on the Republican ticket where the party’s nominees for Governor, Lt. Governor and Secretary of State are up for grabs

In the May 22 Primary, Seminole County voters favored Stewart with 953 votes over Balkcom with 208 in a four candidate race. The other two candidates not making it into the July 24 runoff were Megan Lane Connell with 327 votes,  and Keith Day with 133 votes.

However, vote totals in the May Primary from the entire seven-county Pataula Judicial Circuit, consisting of the counties of Seminole, Terrell, Randolph, Quitman, Clay, Early and Miller Counties, had Balkcom coming out on top with 2,580 votes. Chip Stewart was second with 2,289 votes, Connell followed with 1,708 votes and Day received 1,132 votes.

In the May Primary local voters highly favored Cagle over Kemp 401-229; however, statewide polling seems the duo are now locked in a tight race to earn the right to face Democratic nominee Stacey Abrams in November.

The GOP will also decide between former State Representative and Georgia Tech pitcher Geoff Duncan and David J.  Shafer, who has served in the State Senate for 16 years,  for the party’s nominee for Georgia’s next Lt. Governor. The winner will face Democrat Sarah Riggs Amico in the November General Election.

Lastly, Republicans will also be voting between Alpharetta Mayor David Belle Isle and State Rep. Brad Raffensperger for the party’s nominee for Secretary of State. The winner of that race will face former Congressman John Barrow.

On the Democratic Party ballot there is only one race, which is between Sid Chapman of Griffin and Otha Thornton Jr. of Richmond Hill for the Democratic nominee for State School Superintendent.

Advance voting continues Monday through Friday during regular business hours, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m., and concludes on Friday, July 20. There will not be a Saturday voting opportunity for the runoff election and all advance voting will be conducted in the Probate Judge’s office in the Seminole County Courthouse in downtown Donalsonville.

Voters who wish to obtain an absentee ballot by mail may submit a written application to the Election Superintendent’s office at P.O. Box 684, Donalsonville, Georgia 39845.

For more information call Michael Jon Rogerson, Election Superintendent or Kristy Wilson, Chief Deputy Registrar at 229-524-5256.

Your final opportunity to vote in the runoff election will be at the polling place in your precinct from 7 a.m. - 7 p.m. on Runoff Election Day, July 24. 


Visitor Comments

click ad below for details
  • Show All Ads